Nobel Peace Prize 2014 Winner is Malala Yousafzai

Nobel Peace Prize 2014 Winner is Malala Yousafzai

Photo Credit: Getty Images

/* Story Top Left 2010 300×250, created 7/15/10 */
google_ad_slot = “8340327155”;


The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2014 goes to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi. Malala Yousafzai is a Pakistani school pupil and education activist from the town of Mingora in the Swat District of Pakistan’s northwestern Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. She got shot three times by the Taliban in 2012 because she fought for her right to an education. Her book “I am Malala” tells her story. Malala is the youngest Nobel Peace Prize laureate in history.

Kailash Satyarthi Kailash Satyarthi, maintaining Gandhi’s tradition, has headed various forms of protests and demonstrations, all peaceful, focusing on the grave exploitation of children for financial gain in India. He has also contributed to the development of important international conventions on children’s rights.

The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize is likely the most controversial Nobel Prize each year. In 2012 the European Union won the Peace Prize, which many found was not right. Even more controversial was the Nobel Peace Prize in 2009 for Barack Obama. At the time most cheered, but looking back and what happened in the years since make Peace Prize for Obama look very ill conceived.

The 2013 Nobel Peace Prize went to Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). Who will win the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize?

The most talked about candidates for the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize included Pope Francis, Edward Snowden, Malala Yousafzai and Ban KI-Moon.

Watch below the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize announcement that started at 11am CET.

The Nobel Peace prize has been awarded to 127 Nobel Laureates since 1901. The first Nobel Peace Prize was given to Jean Henry Dunant, founder of the Red Cross.

You Might Also Like

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *